New Discovery V Talk about the new Land Rover Discovery 5
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to trickle charge Battery in Disco V?

Search this Thread

Old 01-26-2019, 09:13 AM
Mudding
Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Default How to trickle charge Battery in Disco V?

Hello all, I am new to the world of Land Rover but excited as well.

How can you connect a trickle charger to the 12volt battery? Where is the battery? The manual says battery must be removed and it should be done by a dealer. It won’t even say where battery is.

I just picked up a certified pre-owned 2017 Disco and was in the garage last night intending to sit in the front seat and just play/ familiarize myself with the Intouch Pro system. But with the engine not running, the system kept saying it would shut down in 3 minutes to conserve battery life.

There must be some way for owners to charge battery on their own. Thanks for the help!

Old 01-26-2019, 11:00 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 390 Likes on 317 Posts

There has to be a way to bypass that. I can’t imagine a new car today not allowing you to sit in it on battery power for more than three minutes before shutting down.
Back to the OP though, a battery maintainer is very easy to install but they are only needed if your car is sitting for weeks/months without being driven. There is no need to install one otherwise.

Old 01-26-2019, 12:23 PM
Mudding

Originally Posted by stillruns
There has to be a way to bypass that. I can’t imagine a new car today not allowing you to sit in it on battery power for more than three minutes before shutting down.
Back to the OP though, a battery maintainer is very easy to install but they are only needed if your car is sitting for weeks/months without being driven. There is no need to install one otherwise.