New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

2002 Range Rover

Search this Thread

Old 09-24-2012, 03:59 AM
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2002 Range Rover

Hi, I am thinking about purchasing a 2002 Range Rover. The car looks beautiful and I like most things about it, but I hear that Range Rovers up until 2006 have too many mechanical issues and things falling apart. The car has 109k on the odometer. The guy also tells me that the shocks for the wheels were replaced because previous shocks were known to cause problems.

So my main concern with this car is it reliable? Will I have to take this car to the shop constantly because I don't have that kind of time or money. I am a college student and I just want a good looking reliable vehicle (a classy vehicle would be nice). Also when I drove it I couldn't help noticing that I felt high up in the driver's seat. Is there anyway to lower the seat so that I am not looking down/reaching down to the steering wheel? Thanks for any input about this car I really appreciate it.

Old 09-24-2012, 04:15 AM
Three Wheeling

I'll let those more experienced with the P38 Range Rover comment on reliability, but when he said that the shocks were replaced because they are problematic, did he maybe mean that he replaced the air suspension with coil springs? That would be a good thing, since you wouldn't have to worry about problems with the air suspension down the road.

Check out the Range Rover section of the forum and look for posts on the P38, you'll find plenty of info.

Those are good lookin' Rangies...of course - I don't think they've ever made a bad looking one...

Old 09-24-2012, 05:51 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post