New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

New and Still Looking for the Perfect Vehicle

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2010, 12:37 PM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New and Still Looking for the Perfect Vehicle

Hello,

I'm new to the Land Rover Forums. I haven't actually bought a LR yet, but have gotten interested in them and am considering a couple. It all started for me this winter due to all the snow that we've gotten in Northern Virginia (NOVA). I was thinking of getting a Subaru Outback or something for the AWD, but came across a Range Rover on craigslist that needed a new BeCM and that got me expanding my search to ones that actually work.

So I'm trying to figure out: Range Rover, Land Rover, Discovery, Freelander... which to get.

I know this isn't supposed to be a technical forum, but I'm looking at a 2000 Disco II tomorrow. 95K miles. I'll poke around for posts on what to look for in a used LR, but any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Mike Ellerbe in Woodbridge

Old 03-03-2010, 12:55 PM
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

look at the discovery section there is a what to looking for when buying a discovery thread

Old 03-03-2010, 01:13 PM
6th Gear
Default Thanks!

Ed,

Thanks for the advice. I read a couple of the "must read" posts including the comparison between the I & II and the "what to look for' posts.

I'm currently going through the "how to and write ups" section.

My dilemma is that while it tells me what can go wrong, I don't know how to check these items when I'm at the guy's house. I guess I could take it to a stealership and pay an "expert", but I prefer to do my own work whenever possible. I'm just an ignoramoose when it comes to this vehicle. I just think they're COOL!

ME

Old 03-03-2010, 02:40 PM

read this one https://landroverforums.com/forum/sh...ad.php?t=21328