New Member Introduction Are you new to Land Rover Forums? WELCOME! Tell us about yourself! (This section is not for technical questions)

Newbie with '97 Range Rover 4.6 HSE

Search this Thread

Old 08-23-2006, 02:10 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie with '97 Range Rover 4.6 HSE

Greetings everyone, this is my first post here. I just yesterday purchased a '97 Range Rover 4.6 HSE off of eBay. I've had varying luck with cars on eBay, but this one had a 50-picture ad and I am going to have a friend pick the thing up for me in Chicago and have him look over it and test drive it before handing over the cash. I've had some experience working on these trucks, as when I was a Jaguar mechanic we did have some Range Rovers come in fairly regularly. I always found them to be real joys to drive and seemed to be fairly reliable to me. The truck only has a few ticks under 61,000 miles on it, so it's really virtually new. I'll make sure to take pictures of it when I take delivery.

My question is first off what specifics should my friend be looking for when he picks it up? Obviously the basics in terms of running and driving well, make sure the air suspension and 4x4 are functioning properly, etc. Any other help would be appreciated!

Thanks!

Old 08-23-2006, 03:57 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Newbie with '97 Range Rover 4.6 HSE

FordCrusherGT,

I strongly recommend your friend get this vehicle up in the air on a lift to look it over BEFORE making the deal. Thinks to look for (especially in Chicago-- a "Salt on the road" state) include: