Go Back   Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum > Other > Forum Help & Suggestion Center
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?

Welcome to the Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum.
If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below.

Reply
 
 
 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 02-12-2010, 02:36 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1
Default Phising attempt -WARNING-

Today I received this on my gmail account, it is a phishing attempt, I thought it prudent to let other members know so they don't go take the "test".

Apparently a new account was created called ForumModerators making it real easy to send an official looking email to entrap some unsuspecting victim. Whatever you do, do not take the "test" you will end up with a virus, trojan or other nasty thing on your computer.

I completely agree with hilltoppersx, the account should never had been created, this is a security problem for the forum admins.

-cnxt318

fromLand Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum <webmaster@landroverforums.com>toxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
dateFri, Feb 12, 2010 at 10:59 AMsubjectNew Private Message at Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forummailed-byautoforumuniverse.com
hide details 10:59 AM (1 hour ago)

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL!
***************************

Dear cnxt318,

You have received a new private message at Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum from TeamModerators, entitled "Warning! Next time we will have to complaint to your ISP.".

To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:
http://landroverforums.com/forum/private.php

This is the message that was sent:
***************
Dear, cnxt318;Bajapower;kitricles;FO_Shizzle;capslock614 !A virus alert was noticed on your computer. We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://security-tool2010.org/cnxt318...;capslock614If you do not pass this test* we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP.----------------------------------------------------Forum Administration landroverforums.com.
***************

Again, please do not reply to this email. You must go to the following page to reply to this private message:
http://landroverforums.com/forum/private.php

All the best,
Land Rover Forums - Land Rover Enthusiast Forum

Last edited by cnxt318; 02-12-2010 at 03:13 PM. Reason: UPDATE
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-2010, 03:04 PM
hilltoppersx's Avatar
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 5,076
edtatton
Default

yeah its getting back first the spam and now phishing scams.. forum needs to step up its security to create an account
__________________
-Ed


99 DII, TF +2" HD & steering damper, TreadWright 265/75/16, ARB front, BritPart rear, Warn m8000 with synth, Columbia Overland gate panel & dual battery tray, Safari snorkel, RoverBones diff guards, RockWare sliders, DieHard Plat Deep Cycle, Chalkboard Headliner, CB, Wilderness Rack, 6 hella 700 ff's w 100w bulbs, 2 hella work lights

93 RRC TF track rod, tie rod & steering damper, TRW rims

Northeast Land Rover Club
www.nelrc.com
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-2010, 03:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2
Default Its a problem

I got one yesterday and a different one today. There is certainly a security issue at hand.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-2010, 03:39 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 6
Default

I've been sent it twice now, hopefully people will use comon sence and realise that the forum can not tell if you have a virus or not
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-15-2010, 07:20 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1
Default Warn everyone!

Hope we do something about these scamming idiots...I can see where it could fool somebody into clicking on the links in the pvt messages. I've gotten two messages so far from "TeamModerators" and "Admin&Moderator".

Can the real admins please send out a mass email to warn everybody?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-15-2010, 09:31 AM
Disco Mike's Avatar
Administrator
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 21,613
Send a message via Skype™ to Disco Mike
Default

They have both been banned and have figured out how to get back in. I will be talking with the offices Tuesday morning when it opens.
__________________
Mike
Retired service manager. Member of the Solihull Society, NCLR club, SCLR and Santa Barbara 4 Wheelers.

99 D2, 3" lift, CDL with a Detroit and T.T. lockers, H.D. axles, 4:11 gears, Custom front and rear bumpers, sliders, Warn winch, and 5 HID's.

To Download the RAVE Manual, follow this link http://www.landroverresource.com/

Rover Radio issues or IPOD Adapters http://home.valornet.com/splacket/index.htm



Need Parts?
paulgrant@mac.com, or 203-770-1699
willtillery@roverguy.com, or 434-251-9331
Paul PTSchram 260-804-0458
PM Marty(Drillbit)[url]http://www.landroversonly.com/forums...o=newpm&u=5940
British Parts of Utah, http://www.bputah.com/
Lucky8, http://lucky8llc.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2010, 07:10 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Thumbs down phishing?

I have also received this e-mail as well. I think the administrators need to investigate this fully.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-16-2010, 10:18 AM
sclarkie's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: AZ, USA
Posts: 57
Default

I've gotten the same PM as the others, but I have another problem- when I try to view other members' photos or areas like Vehicles for Sale, I get a message telling me I do not have sufficient priveleges to view. I have been inactive for some time, as I had to sell my Disco, but I'm looking for another, so I wanted to get back in the loop. Can one of the Administrators help?
__________________
99 D1- 120K miles, 2" OME lift, ARB bumper w/ Warn xD9000, rock sliders, 265s on NATO steelies.
Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 10:18 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Advertising

Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory
Our Sponsors
 
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 PM.

Copyright © Internet Brands, Inc. All rights reserved.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.
SEO by vBSEO ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
LAND ROVER and its logo are the registered trademarks of Land Rover. Land Rover is not affiliated with LandRoverForums.com.

Emails Backup