General Tech Help Good at troubleshooting? Have a non specific issue? Discuss general tech topics here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Disco 2 Repair.

Search this Thread

Old 10-24-2016, 09:47 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Disco 2 Repair.

Hello! I'm new to Land Rover's but I'm absolutely obsessed. Got my first Disco 2 less than 4 months ago. It's an 03 and before buying it I did some research and new they could be problematic/costly to repair. I've only ever done small jobs to cars ( Rotors, brakes, oil, alternator, radiator, motor mounts). I love the prospect of learning with the vehicle and taking it off road/camping with my family. Since owning it I realized. People just suck at maintaining their cars. I mean this one is not totally destroyed but I bought it for 3000 dollars. (talked down from 4500) Since I bought it I replaced the radiator and 2 hoses, did all 4 rotors and brakes. And my rear main seal is leaking oil/burning it. And I'm leaking a little oil from my valve cover gaskets. All of this is just from simple things that the previous owner could have done and quite possibly he could have gotten much more for a better running truck. But anyways I digress. A friend of mine and fellow LR nut told me that doing the rear main seal and the valve cover gaskets can cost around 1000-1500 to fix. I think I may be able to to the valves but the rear main seal is definitely not something I can do. Also it clicks pretty bad. Everywhere I go some guy tells me I need oil. I check the oil daily and I can assure you it does not need oil. I keep reading things on here saying "yea they do that" or "mines been clicking for the last 100k no biggie". Is it really not a big deal? I also heard these trucks have an issue with the oil pump, the drive shaft, and the catalytic converter. Could it be any of those. When I bought it I checked the vin. It does fall in the kill range. Honestly though even though she clicks, the car drives great. Handles beautif