Sponsored by:

Excited but Anxious New Owner

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2023, 06:13 PM
2nd Gear
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Excited but Anxious New Owner

Hey guys,

OKAY so be kind please. My 2023 Silicone Silver L663 has just landed stateside and should be in my hands early next month.
We went with the 3.0L P400 i6 motor on the S and the following packages:

1. Towing Pack
2. Off Road Pack
3. Advanced Off Road
4. Cold Climate
5. Air Suspension
6. 3 Zone Climate
7. Country Pack
8. Tire Cover
9. Black Leather Interior
10. Color Matched Roof

I have been working on trucks and cars for 20+ years as a DIY mechanic, avid track day enthusiast etc. on Ford, Honda and Toyota vehicles. We also have horses and love camping so we are extra excited.

HERE is where I get anxious:

1. Every mechanic I know has warned me NOT to buy this car due to horrible reliability issues.
2. I am leaving a 2009 V8 4runner which has been incredibly reliable and a 1999 Ford Ranger prior to that.
3. This will be my daily driver.

I have ton a TON of searching on this and found the following but thus have the following questions for you all:
1. There are numerous software bugs that seem to have been mentioned 2020-2021.(fake over heating, nav console issues, random check engine lights, car play disappearing) Has anyone found that JLR has now fixed these going forward so the 2023 model should be free of this?
2. The dreaded windshield whistle: Anyone know the status on this? Should I have the dealership fix this before I even leave the lot?
3. Air Suspension = expensive: I was told this car NEEDED to have the air suspension package. Is this a mistake?
4. The motor is likely going to fail: JLR has not exactly had a great reputation with the discovery etc. Should we be worried about this?