Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Subframe lift install

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2022, 05:49 PM
Mudding
Received 147 Likes on 83 Posts
Default Subframe lift install

Has anyone done a subframe lift? Is it in any way feasible for casual/hobby folks to do on their own?

Old 04-18-2022, 06:55 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 2,200 Likes on 922 Posts

@Peterdjp and @sarek are two members who have a subframe lift. It looks like a beast of a task to my untrained eye.

The following users liked this post:
GrouseK9 (04-18-2022)
Old 04-18-2022, 07:29 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 1,242 Likes on 741 Posts

I have no personal experience. However, I was at SCARR 2022 a few weeks ago where this exact topic came up. I was hanging out with a bunch of VERY cool Land Rover mechanics. Most had worked at Dealers before joining some of the 3rd party service shops in Dallas. Their Land Rover knowledge collectively went back decades. And they were just great guys to hang out with and share some drinks. Anyway, I was in mad awe of their talents and one of the senior techs at a highly recognized shop started talking about it. He said his shop would NEVER do it again on a quote. It would strictly be "Time & Materials" until completed. He said that it took him three straight days to do it and these weren't 8 hour days. These were long hours by an insanely talented Rover mechanic who knew his way around the L663's. If it took him ~30 hours, you do your own math. I asked him about the AU Bullbars like mine. He said they have done plenty and they are WAY easier. Right there, I checked it off of my bucket list. I figure if I get to that point, I'm hiring them, Sarek, or someone who hasn't done it before....

Old 04-18-2022, 08:07 PM
Mudding

That sounds intimidating not gonna lie

GrouseK9 (04-18-2022)
Old 04-19-2022, 06:19 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 622 Likes on 200 Posts