4X4 Events and Weekend Outings Post Your Wheeling Pictures and Videos Here!

Off-Roading:The LR3 Love Story

Search this Thread

Old 07-15-2013, 04:57 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Red face Off-Roading:The LR3 Love Story

So. I probably bit off more than I can chew when it came to off-roading this past Sunday. Thought I would share the crazy longwinded story with y'all.

I am a country girl from Missouri. Been muddin' in Chevy trucks more times than I can count and off-roading down backroads with the boys more times than I would ever admit to my Daddy I come from a dirt track stock car racing family! I was a HUMVEE driver in the Marine Corps, have driven over every inch of 29 Palms, Okinawa Japan and the swamps of North Carolina. Yet, now on my second Rover this is the first time I went off-roading with one.

My husband (as I have complained before) is a motorcycle guy. He loves his crotch rocket, wants to do track days, I spend too many weekends up on the famous Mulholland Fwy here in SoCal just watching him go up then down (BORING! I am not one to watch anyone do anything, but I love him). I think my Mother's Day Land Rover gift was an attempt to get me a toy so he could spend time with his toy and to get me to stop complaining about the expense of his hobby!