Build Threads Create a build thread to compile pictures and descriptions of your LR build.

Super Model With Bad Crack Habit Rehab Build-

Search this Thread

Old 09-17-2015, 09:43 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 39 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Super Model With Bad Crack Habit Rehab Build-

WARNING, IF YOUR EASILY OFFENDED, HAVE NO SENSE OF HUMOR OR OVER ALL TAKE LIFE TOO SERIOUSLY........YOU'LL WANT TO READ A DIFFERENT BUILD THREAD. THANKS!
Name:  Snow008.jpg
Views: 1407
Size:  64.8 KB
Okay........

I doubt there's much I can post here that hasn't been done or posted over the years........So I think this will be more about the trial & tribulations of adopting a 1997 Disco 1 SD7 from a car lot where it sat for over 2 years....

I'm new to the Land Rover brand, but not new to 4 wheeling. Maybe in some way this will help the next new guy/gal down the road.....I was warned, but I did it anyway.

Back ground.....I had a 92 E250 that I doing a ridge-runner style (70's) camper conversion to.....Long story short, the wife wouldn't drive it (too big) so it got to be....What's the point?.....Couldn't sell it on CL for what I had into it......Driving by a little used car dealership I noticed the Disco 1 and thought to myself, damn...that things been there for years...what's up?
2 weeks later the wife went away for a weekend, I cleaned up the van and set out to make a deal......2 hours later, I swapped the van for the Disco..

Name:  Detoursusacom1_zps9b72d0e9.jpg
Views: 1390
Size:  71.3 KB

The Disco barely ran.....locked up alternator, the rubber plug on the head was dry rotted and spewing antifreeze......This was all before I drove it off the lot.....BUT HEY, IT WAS ONE OWNER....lol...couple little issues, so what....I've brought worse things home....who cares if the bearing in the compressor is roaring like 1/2 dead road kill.....Made the deal, drove it straight to the house.....

Name:  DSCF4196_zpsylgnhwuk.jpg
Views: 1406
Size:  416.0 KB