Defender Talk about the Land Rover Defender within.

Total Newbie! Engine ID question

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2007, 12:04 PM
8th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Total Newbie! Engine ID question

Hello,
I just bought a 1974 Series III with a non-turbo diesel from a 90/110. I love it. It does have some issues, however... The engine needs a valve cover gasket and an oil pan gasket.I'm pretty clueless on these engines, and I am wondering how I can find out the year of the engine, to make sure I get the right gaskets (unless they are all the same). The engine has "HRC 1474" on the top (intake manifold) and 23H4 on the side of the engine block.
I have several other questions:
What field service manual do you suggest and source?
What oil should be used in the diesel?
It has the overdrive (stock tranny), but it keeps popping out of gear into neutralafter about 5 minutes of operation. Any suggestions? The linkage is clear of any obstructions.
Many thanks in advance.
Chuck

[IMG]local://upfiles/1683/ED37B1F5B73548A7A2BEA3C8EC1F68C8.jpg[/IMG]

Old 06-02-2007, 12:06 PM
8th Gear
Default RE: Total Newbie! Engine ID question

Here is a pic of the engine.
Thanks,
Chuck

[IMG]local://upfiles/1683/14464D6A329F4E04AA547382E956A3B2.jpg[/IMG]

Old 06-03-2007, 05:19 AM
Three Wheeling

Hey, looks like the same engine I have in my 1986 110. I believe its a 2.5 liter. As far as oil I would go with a 20W/50 it's going to take about 8 and a half liters. Just curious, do you have a pre fuel filter just above the right front wheel well and then a final filter before going into the fuel system?

David

Old 06-03-2007, 08:56 AM
Adz
Rock Crawling
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts

Shame about the Defender front end on the series III - the original SIII front end was the best looking of the lot IMHO.

If it's a Defender engine, i.e. post 1984 it will be a 2.5 - the bits you're after (valve cover and sump gaskets) are common between the old 2.25 and the 2.5 Diesels anyway.