Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

1997 RHD Land Rover Disco I Project

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2014, 12:37 AM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1997 RHD Land Rover Disco I Project

While I am studying abroad in New Zealand, I picked up a 1997 Disco I. After doing a lot of research, I decided it was the vehicle for me. I plan on doing a lot of backcountry climbing and skiing and needed a capable 4WD to get me to these hard to reach places. It came out to about $1400 NZD for the vehicle (cars are especially expensive here. I saw a new Range Rover going for like $250K NZD). It's a 3.9L V8i with the County badge. It was imported into NZ in 2004 from Japan.

I've been gradually making my way through the maintenance suggested by this forum.
throttle body was cleaned. Oil and filter were changed (used Shell Rimula 15W/40: I think its the international version of Rotella), as has air filter, serpentine belt, transmission fluid and transfer case fluid.
Rear rotors and pads were replaced by a shop
(i was not equipped to do that myself) and the brakes were bled (I wish I had asked them to flush, maybe next month).
Coolant's been replaced, but the thermostat hasn't been .
I'm not too worried about overheating since its winter over here and in the mid 40s most every day. I've been watching the needle and it rarely moves out of the bottom third of the gauge, but it does work.
I left the power steering alone since the fluid was clean and was working great.
All propshafts have been greased and appear to have been rebuilt since I got some nipples where they wouldn't be on a stock one. I was also blessed to buy a disco without the rubber coupling on the rear (gotta count those blessings).
The swivels are in remarkably good shape, no pitting whatsover. No drains. I'll put some one shot in these in the next few weeks when it stops raining.