Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

97 engine for 95

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2014, 09:37 AM
HCF
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 engine for 95

Hello I am new to this web sight ( but have been a Land Rover user for about 10 years ) My first was a used 97 Disco witch I hesitated to buy but my wife liked them . I finally gave in when we moved to the top of a mountain in NH and I needed a rig (for her as I was a big ford guy) so she could navigate our road to our property . The 97 proved its worth and value ( especially when towing the F-350 over up hill ice ) We put many years on it with good service with little problems . Back then on top of Pike hill I had no Internet connection or Rave manual( when I got both it opened my world to LRs )
Until then being baffled by the BCU playing games (trying to repair the direction AL's and was wondering what the hell is this green box {pre Rave} )
Fast forward , My wife found a second Disco and brought it Home ( I am all for spares and donor cars )It was a really nice D2 witch I thought was the same ( still in the Dark ) started freak in out because they were different .
At first I hated it ,Traction control was weird no Diff lock it had 32" BFs w/ old man Emu springs ( some one dumped some $ into it and my wife stole it for 2000$ . It started to grow on me I got a Rave disk given to me ,I fixed the Problems (crank sensor some other stuff ) and we are still driving it . I will confess I have now 7 D2s and just got my first Bosch P-38 she always wanted one and I now gave in ,to my delight they share a lot with the D2.
Now my Question :I have a 95 Disco really clean but crappy engine
I would like to take the 4.0 Gems from my afore mentioned 97 and make the swap into the 95 . I just got a nice little blizzard plow and would like to make a little plow truck for the place (off High way use )