Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

daily driver?

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2012, 05:08 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 132 Likes on 65 Posts
Default daily driver?

I wanted to post a thread and get some feedback from guys who drive their series I discos on a daily, or semi daily basis. I'm considering buying one and will be driving it to college, about 1 hr 45min from my home town, and also off-roading in it when I can. I will only be driving it 2-3 times a week around town, and other than that just back home every now and then. I have a motorcycle so I can afford to have it sidelined as long as I don't need to go anywhere far. I have some mechanical experience and can perform preventative maintenance well but don't have much experience with bigger projects.

Just wanted to see how those of you that drive these trucks daily, and hit the trails on the weekends have to say.

Thanks!

Old 12-02-2012, 05:54 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I drive my 97 D1 every day, but I typically drive less than 10 miles. I usually hit the trails/camp once a month and as long as you have a backup vehicle for the times your truck is down you should be fine. You should read as much as you can here about what to look for when buying before you hand over the money.

Old 12-02-2012, 06:15 PM
Winching
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

definitely buy a solid one if youre using it as your primary enclosed vehicle :P

im not a fan of driving trucks as dailies for a variety of reasons, but i suppose the D1 isnt any worse than other trucks for the same money.

Old 12-02-2012, 06:20 PM
Received 14 Likes on 11 Posts

Hope you have a full time job while your away at school

Old 12-02-2012, 06:37 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

I drive mine everyday, about 35 miles round trip, mostly expressway.
Has been a daily driver since I bought it back in 4/07, back then it was the family car.
I dont off road as much as I'd like to but it's great in the snow.