Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Epic ECU Failure?

Search this Thread

Old 09-16-2012, 06:42 PM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Epic ECU Failure?

THis is my first post. I do have a video to post and will get it up ASAP. Here is the story:
Been working on my Disco for sometime. Been putting less than 5K a year on it over the bast 4 years. New rotor, calipers, break lines, shocks, muffler, exhaust manifold, transmission oil line, trans oil cooler.... it goes on. First real car I have worked on extensively. I have the shop manual. So, I finally think it is all together. Inspections all good, all the little things taken care of.
I drive about 20 miles with a stop for dinner. within 1/4 mile from home the engine stops while traveling ~25mph. Cost the car to a parking stop. No fuel pressure, no spark and some strange clicking noises coming from 3 points. I have no experience with electronic diagnosis.
Replaced crankshaft sensor. could have explained fuel and spark but not other issues. Didn't work. Toed the car home. 3 days later I proceeded to make a video, turned the key and the engine started. Assumed maybe the sensor kicked in??? Wishful thinking. within 5 miles engine died again. This time the check engine light came on first.
So now the car sits. I attempted to pull codes but get an error. That makes me think ECU?? But before i throw parts and money at the problem, asking for help makes more sense. Please watch the video.
The relay that is clicking was disconnected when the engine fired up after the first failure.

This should be the video. was not able to add it as attachment in forum. File too large??
I should note that i do have access to two similar Discos at the junk yard.
Thanks so much for any direction provided on this one. I will check daily for posts.
Cheers!

Last edited by sndhandsmoke; 09-16-2012 at 07:08 PM.
Old 09-16-2012, 07:59 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 399 Likes on 383 Posts