Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Looking for advice on a 97 Disco listing

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2021, 12:21 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Looking for advice on a 97 Disco listing

Hey all, I'm currently looking at this posting on Craigslist for a 1997 Disco SD. The price seems steep compared to some others I've seen so I wanted to hear your opinions on the Disco before scheduling a test drive or PPI as I am a few hours away from where it is located. I have no prior mechanical experience due to family pushback before I left for college (women shouldn't work on cars blah blah) but am finally in a position where I can dedicate the rest of my summer to learning everything I can - I am determined to be able to work on my own vehicle in the future. I have $10k allotted for parts/repairs over the next year or so before I begin working full-time although I'd like to stay under that budget if possible. Also, I would be using the truck as a DD for about 150 miles per week if that affects anything.

I'm aware of Spike's stickied post regarding common issues with the D1 and will be looking out for those and asking the seller for service records. Is there anything else I should keep an eye out for in a test drive or PPI? What would you all consider a fair price for this Disco? Though I'm interested in the truck, I'm in no rush to purchase this particular one if it's not a good fit for me.

Thanks in advance for your help if any of you are near DC or Charlottesville I'd love to be friends!

Old 06-29-2021, 12:23 PM
Super Moderator
Received 1,478 Likes on 1,206 Posts

Fair price depends on location, condition, service history and options. Not knowing most of the above makes an educated answer difficult
welcome to the forum

Old 06-29-2021, 12:33 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts