Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Neverseize on lug nut studs, and other places

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2010, 07:57 AM
Rock Crawling
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default Neverseize on lug nut studs, and other places

Ok, so I am a new Discovery guy and find myself with a LOT of work to do on this beast.

My question is: I have been putting never-seize on lug nuts for years - the threads gall and make them really hard to get on and off.

Now ,y research on the internet has lead me to the conclusion that the main strike against doing this comes from large fleet owners who view it as a legal liability - post accident it is easy to identify and to stupid people sounds plausible.

Now, I am a mechanical engineer for the navy who deals with lubricated and dry torque values everyday shipboard and am well aware of the increased clamping force generated by torquing a lubricated thread to dry values, and will recalculate torques accordingly.

Any reason not to do this? It seems as I look through the RAVE, they consistantly cal for locktite in places I might be slathering on never-seize if left to my own devices.

Any thoughts? Chcken Littles need not reply, just looking for experience,

Thanks

Old 09-11-2010, 08:16 AM
Winching
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Originally Posted by geek_IM
Ok, so I am a new Discovery guy and find myself with a LOT of work to do on this beast.

My question is: I have been putting never-seize on lug nuts for years - the threads gall and make them really hard to get on and off.

Now ,y research on the internet has lead me to the conclusion that the main strike against doing this comes from large fleet owners who view it as a legal liability - post accident it is easy to identify and to stupid people sounds plausible.