Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

P1176 code

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2010, 03:45 PM
Baja
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default P1176 code

Guys,

This morning the Disco was running a little rough, like stumbling on acceleration and not smooth idle when first started.

On the way home Check Engine Light came on. Went to Advanced Auto there was only 1 code P1179 fuel air metering error.

Cleared it and it ran fine all the way home. Can anyone give me any insight as to what may have triggered this code and what if anything should be done?

Old 10-27-2010, 08:22 AM
Pro Wrench
Received 91 Likes on 82 Posts

Well Danny, I dont have any sneakers or jewelry to offer, but I have had some experience with this "troublesome" code. It's what I like to call Rovers Hail Mary code.
P1176 ....Fuel Mass Flow Rate @ max positive correction......in other words the ecu has adjusted the fuel curve for the maximum flow that it was DESIGNED to deliver. Many believe that this is a result of a MAF sensor that may be dirty or old and getting out of spec, or there may be some sort of air leak in the intake system causing the engine to need more fuel. Some guys even feel that the fuel pump may be weak ( even though the engine seems to run fine) Many have cleared the code (cleaned the maf) only to have the code reappear 50 / 200 / 500 / 1200 miles later. In all my searching I have yet to find a definitive answer. Having said all that, and my personal experience with this, It seems possible that your recent air intake modifications may have exceeded the computer's pre set ability to adjust the fuel curve enough to compensate for the increase in air flow. Just my opinion, let us know what you find

Old 10-27-2010, 08:23 PM
Baja

Originally Posted by XCELLER8
Well Danny, I dont have any sneakers or jewelry to offer, but I have had some experience with this "troublesome" code. It's what I like to call Rovers Hail Mary code.