Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

rear aframe ball joint replacement and suspension r&r

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2013, 02:27 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
Default rear aframe ball joint replacement and suspension r&r

I am starting this thread as a very basic helper/how to for this job, because I found a dearth of information on this topic and had I known what a nightmare this would turn into I would have planned better and approached it differently, that's for sure.

This is not intended to be an exhaustive treatise for the rover tech heads on the site, but more for a guy who might be contemplating diving into the job in his driveway and figuring it out as they go, like me. I'm no expert, certainly. If anybody seems to be interested, I will continue to update this as I go along. It could take some time, as my wreching hours are limited.

Let's take a look at the new ball joint, shall we?
Name:  kaY0lu5l.jpg
Views: 187
Size:  27.6 KB

Notice the splining around the the back end. I didn't. I did kind of wonder how the two 10mm bolts could possibly stand the stress applied to the ball joint under load, but that was as far as I got. What it means is in order to replace this you need a press, and not a little tiny harbor freight 10 ton press but a big honkin one, if yours is in the condition mine is in. Press out of the socket and press in.

I don't have any pics of the very beginning, as I didn't decide to make this thread until I already had a full nightmarish day into the project. First, you need to get the rave or go to roversnorth and use the diagrams to familiarize yourself with the layout of the rear a frame (stolen pic, sorry):

There are two ways to get the ball joint bracket out. You can either attack the two 6" long bolts that attach the bracket to the A arms, or the two 4" x 3/4" bolts that hold the assembly to the frame. You also have to get the ball joint castellated nut off as well.