Discovery I Talk about the Land Rover Discovery Series I within.

Rover11's Build Thread

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2011, 12:50 PM
Mudding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Rover11's Build Thread

I'm slowly starting to fix/build my 97 Land Rover Discovery SE. I have 9 years of offroading experience and have built half a dozen Jeeps. This will be the first Land Rover I have built and offroaded. The primary trails will be Cliffs Insane Terrain in IL, The Bad Lands in IN and the Silver Lake Sand Dunes in WI. I would also really like to go to Moab. I'd really like to take the Discovery to the trails in Augs so I am hoping to get everything done soon.

I understand these rigs are extremely capable offroad and I should take the Discovery stock, but i need new tires and I don't want to have to buy to sets of tires.

The Discovery was idling really high. A new exhaust system fixed that problem. The Discovery then started to not have power over 2500-3000 rpms. A new fuel pump seemed to fix that problem.

The po hit something the passenger side bumper is messed up. It also looks like they shut the garage on the hood. The hood is dented pretty bad. I've put on a new hood and removed the passenger side bumper cover. I have also installed the part that goes above the bumper but under the headlight (cannot remember the name). The hood latch is messed up so I removed that and will be installing hood pins today hopefully.

I'll be working on the 60,000 mile service. And installing a 2" lift and 32" tires.

Stay tuned.

Old 07-24-2011, 05:10 PM
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

If yours has the stock plastic airdam and bumper trim on it, you should take it off and do away with it BEFORE you take it on the trails or you will most likely end up busting it off on the trails and nobody wants their trails littered with unnecessary plastic parts. Save yourself the embarassment of having to pick up the broken pieces from the trails.