Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1996 Model RPM Issues

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2008, 03:01 AM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1996 Model RPM Issues

Noob here and this is my first post. I dont know if this problem has been posted before, but here goes...

First problem that i had was the idling was going up and down (mostly down) when i start it up. The engine dies out when i try to rev it up. I went to the mechanic and he managed to fix it and keep the idling steady. He said that 950 rpm is just about right. Is this number correct? Anyway, Everything else is ok until i turn the AC on. The rpm goes down, well actually i think the whole electrical output goes down. It normalizes again when the AC thermostat kicks in and then goes down again.

Can anyone advise me regarding this, please? Im getting worried specially if my family is on-board the vehicle.

Thanks.

Old 04-05-2008, 07:16 AM
Administrator
Received 100 Likes on 82 Posts
Default RE: 1996 Model RPM Issues

First of all, your idle should be around 750 rpm's, no higher.
Second, you need to clean out your throttle body and the throttle plate, then remove and clean your IAC, idle control unit or stepper motor, what ever you want to call it and you will be fine. Your mechanic is way off on this one.
On a side note, check and replace any old vacuum line and especialy the two hoses, one from either v/c to the manifold.

Old 04-05-2008, 07:19 AM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

950 is to high. Have him check your stepper motor (idle control valve), if it is bad the trk will notrun below 550 rpm.
650-700 is normal.
As for slowing down when the A/C kicks in, it is normal for the rpm to drop and then come right back again. Should only drop 50-100 rpm though. And remember, your tach on the dash is not accurate. It's close, but not quite.

Old 04-05-2008, 08:15 AM
Drifting