Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1999 LR1 -- steering issues and leaks

Search this Thread

Old 02-06-2010, 06:12 AM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1999 LR1 -- steering issues and leaks

Firs off i would like to say "hello". For the past 6 months i have been quietly going through these boards finding basically all the answers which i have been looking for. And its been great actually giving the mechanics which i go to tips that i read on here. Im sure it makes them feel that i actually know a few things and less chance for them to rip me off.. haha

I have owned a 1999 LR1 SD with roughly 130k miles for about 7 months now. I totally love this car for the look/feel of it and no matter what the issues i have with it, i am sticking to it.

I am what you would call a complete novice with any automotive work. My trade is computer engineering, but still car issues baffle me.

Since i got this ride i have gotten quite a few things fixed. I will make a short list.

New Brake Calipers/Pads
New Water Pump/Belts (pump failed)
New Air Control Valve (idle was jumpy)
New VSS (speedometer was jumping)
New Plugs/Cables
Replaced stock radio with in dash DD gps unit (some custom fabrication done)

I am still having multiple issues and since i moved down to Palm Coast FL from Brooklyn NY i cant find a reliable trustworthy mechanic down here. In Brooklyn NY i had a great guy, but here i dont know anyone yet.

Just today i went to firestone to change all 4 tires and i asked them to do a check on the car since my check engine light in always on. Back in NY my mechanic got the error code 313 and it was saying i had a misfire. At that time he fixed the problem by cleaning one of my plugs because it had some dirty gas buildup. Since then i only have been using 93 octane. But the check engine light is back on and will not go away. I even try the fuel injector cleaner on all fillups with no results.