Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2003 Disco II Bullet Proofing?

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2022, 04:04 PM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2003 Disco II Bullet Proofing?

First off, let me say I am not a mechanic nor have I played one on TV. However, I do know some basics. Over the summer we bought a 2003 Disco II with around 119,500K on it. Since purchasing we have attempted to get all the maintenance and leaks squared away. I recently took it a local mechanic who specializes in and LR and other European vehicles. He replaced the the valve cover gaskets and lifters. Made a few recommendations for future repairs and general information.
1. He recommended not using full synthetic oil and replaced the high mileage royal purple that was recently installed (after purchase) Mobil GTX synthetic blend(not sure on weight). My question is what is the right answer to what I should be running in Idaho?
2. He said there was some noise coming from a sleeve in one of the cylinders that did not need to be addressed immediately. It sound like a loud ticking noise and you can hear it easily when standing outside the vehicle. He said the fix would be to pin the the sleeves with a set screw. This would be done by removing the oil pan, drilling and tapping a set screw in each cylinder, back it with a nut and wire as to insure they do not move. He said it similar to bulletproofing done on diesels. Before I say go, is this the way to go?

Thanks for your help!

Last edited by Hensel; 01-05-2022 at 04:18 PM.
Old 01-05-2022, 04:35 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 167 Likes on 130 Posts

Here is a short story from someone that has paid to do "all the maintenance". It seems they all need some work here and there, no matter how much you do to them. Some people like to tinker and have a project, others get tired of paying shops to fix it.
https://landroverforums.com/forum/di...2000-a-109958/