Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

2004 Disco Won't Start

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2020, 12:18 PM
Drifting
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default 2004 Disco Won't Start

I'm new to the Land Rover world, just bought my SE7 Discovery last week. Ran great until this morning.

Tried to start it, she cranks like normal and almost starts. Engine hits 1,000 rpm for about 2 seconds and she sputters out. Had another guy listen by the tank, he can't hear the fuel pump.

Here's the kicker - yesterday I put a scanner on it (service engine light has been on since I bought it). It read the following:

Crankshaft Position Sensor A Circuit (Engine)
Evaporative Emission System Leak Detected (Engine)
Manufacturing Control (AT)

So I'm wondering if I have a bad fuel pump, or if the crank sensor somehow shuts off the fuel pump. Just found out the crank sensor would mean no spark, so since I've been driving with the indicator light on that might not be it. The engine will run for a few seconds after cranking. But I still don't know about the other two.

Where do I go from here? Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Old 08-01-2020, 12:39 PM
Super Moderator
Received 2,272 Likes on 1,676 Posts

I'd personally check the CPS down on the drivers side under the protective cover. No name units will act all sorts of crazy in my experience. You should be able to get one at your local Auto Zone in a Duralast box which is actually a Bosch unit. Just ask to look at the sensor before you buy it. I've bought a handful from Auto Zone and only 1 was a no name unit. It acted up 2 months down the road, removed it, took it back and exchanged it no questioned asked for a Bosch unit. Other fault could be a gas cap or vacuum leak.

Old 08-01-2020, 12:48 PM
Drifting

I have no idea what a CPS is. Under the hood on the driver's side there's power steering, ABS, brake fluid and air filter

Old 08-01-2020, 01:07 PM
Super Moderator