Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

3" lift HELP

Search this Thread

Old 01-16-2013, 01:23 PM
Camel Trophy
Received 246 Likes on 231 Posts
Default 3" lift HELP

Hi folks. I have a 2000 LR Disco II that sat in the garage for 7 years with a blown engine. I replaced the engine recently and have been fixing other things. It is is amazing shape with the exception of the ball joints.

I need a little guidance. I have read every post and thread on every land rover site I can find, including this one, about lift springs/shocks, and my mind is truly boggled.

Disclaimer: I am NOT a mechanic and it is a fluke that I was able to replace the engine myself. But I can turn a socket and am patient and like to figure things out.

After so many years sitting, my shocks and springs are SHOT. Very uncomfortable ride. Unfortunately, my friend has a 2002 Disco II so I can make direct comparisons. His springs sag too, but his shocks are new and it rides like a champ. I currently have some 18 inch LR wheels on it with 255/60/18's, but I also have the original 16" alloys with out of round 275/70/16's on them that are out of round due to sitting too long. Neither of these configurations rub in my driving, but they are CLOSE.

So I am replacing the springs and shocks no matter what; I figured for the same money I could put a little lift on it to make it look different than my friend's and the two other Disco II's in town (all of which are the same blue color as mine). I watched the Terrafirm video on replacing the springs and shocks and it looks triflingly simple. I am ready to pull the trigger on the Terrafirm purchase. I did consider a body lift, but it is so much more difficult. I also considered simple spring spacers, but I have to replace the springs anyway.