Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

95 with unknown noise

Search this Thread

Old 01-27-2007 | 06:35 PM
|
Overlanding
Default 95 with unknown noise

At first I thought this noise was a valve noise or something wrong with the engine. Heck it could be a valve. I have very little experience with engines. This noise happens when i hit the gas while driving normally. It is coming from somewhere up front. It's like a rattle-knock which increases with throttle. Here is the strange thing. I can park it and rev it up almpst to red line no noise!!! every one in a while it will knock/rattle evey 5 sec in park( rare). I know this is a vauge description, but i dont have alot of money to do repairs. If I just had some ideas. Any help would be great...... I do not want to part with my discovery!! Thanks

Old 01-27-2007 | 06:52 PM
Administrator
Default RE: 95 with unknown noise

Here are some possibiltys,
belt tensioner or pulley
u-joints on the front drive shaft
internal lifter/rocker noise.
You are going to check some more a limit the possibilitys.
Mike

Old 01-27-2007 | 08:34 PM
|
Overlanding

the internal lifter/rocker noise concerns me.... If this is the problem how is it fixed?? how is it checked? What cost would i be looking at if this indeed the problem?? I feel sick already, Disco Mike!!

Old 01-28-2007 | 10:14 AM
Drifting

I am almost positive it is not the Engine RELAX. It sounds like an exhaust problem. Something touching when the engine in under tork. If you can not get it to rattle by raving it is not likly the engine. However if it has high miles and you think it might have a noisey or sticky lifter, the next time you add oil to the engine but in a litre of transmission oil (the red stuff) I don,t think It matters which one.The trans, oil will clean out the hydraulic lifers,and make the engine run quite. I have been doing this for over 30 years on old US v8 engines.

Old 01-28-2007 | 08:52 PM
Three Wheeling

Hi