Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

97 Disco help. Front drive shaft I believe.

Search this Thread

Old 06-04-2010, 09:29 AM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 97 Disco help. Front drive shaft I believe.

When I am driving and let off the gas, there is a knocking under the gear shift that I have located in my opinion, and it is the prop shaft. It seems to be much worse in a particular gear, between 25-45mph. I crawled under and grabbed on to the shaft where it comes out of the trans or transfer case (I am very new at all of this and am still learning parts, but it is whatever the shaft connects to with what I think are U-joints??) and there is about an inch of play in the shaft when engine is off and in park.
Can anyone help guide me in a direction so I can learn more and get the needed parts/instructions, and get to work. Does this sound like a problem in the shaft itself, the joints, or something far more sinister inside of the trans? The fact that the knocking is much worse in a certain gear scares me, but my trans isn't slipping and acting funny when I drive/press gas, just when I left off completely and that shaft knocks once or twice.
Thanks everybody for all the advice on this forum. I am really looking forward to learning all about these great trucks and nursing my Disco back to full health.

97 Disco

Old 06-04-2010, 10:18 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A little bit of play is normal. Is there any play where the driveshaft goes into the transfer case? Have you checked or changed your transfer case and diff fluid. My 98D1 was real noisy untill i changed all the oils then it quieted down considerably. You should have grease fittings on your Ujoints try greasing them real good and see what happens.

Old 06-04-2010, 10:26 AM
Winching
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts