Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Alternator Going Bad?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2009, 09:25 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Alternator Going Bad?

I've got a 1997 LSE (111K) and the lights (both headlights and instrument lights) flicker. They've done this for almost a year and I've been told both by the dealer and an independent mechanic that this means the alternator is going bad. I was getting ready to replace it, but wanted input from the folks here on it. The alternator has never been replaced.

BTW, this is a great board! I've started doing a lot of stuff myself and though I'm a newbie, this place has been invaluable.

Old 08-17-2009, 09:29 AM
Administrator
Received 100 Likes on 82 Posts

Start with removing cleaning and tightening all you cables, go to a local auto parts store and have them do one of their free battery/alternator test.
Let us know what they say, voltage should be between 13.6 and 14.4.

Old 08-17-2009, 12:09 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Are you going to replace it or have it done?
To do it yourself it is a 60 min job if you have never done one before and will set you back $200 for a rebuilt one from a autoparts store.
Under $100 for a used one.

Old 08-17-2009, 01:21 PM
Three Wheeling

Well, the cables needed a little cleaning, but both alternator and battery checked out at Autozone. The voltage started at 13.xx and jumped up to around 14.1 when the test finished. I'll clean the cables better when I get home. Any ideas if that doesn't work? It's kind of like the lights pulsate (obviously more noticeable at night).

I definitely was planning on doing the alternator myself. I've done it before on another car and it looks straightforward.

Old 08-17-2009, 01:26 PM
Team Owner

Rover Chris is a 12v electrical engineer, get ahold of him and then post the repair so that we can learn too.

Old 09-05-2009, 06:22 AM
Three Wheeling