Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Am I good to go

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2021, 10:28 AM
Mudding
Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Am I good to go

So I finally put on my big boy pants and decided to tear down my engine to see if I had a blown head gasket and sure enough I might?? I drained the oil and good amount of coolant came gushing out then the oil. I took bank 2 cylinder head off and there was a bunch of coolant in cylinder 2. This is my first attempt ever in doing a head gasket. The process wasn't complicated but I'm not sure if I cracked head or engine. I looked at the sleeves and they look intact. Now this Coolant not filled by me but by Firestone, was the yellow universal peak coolant that replaced the coolant that I put in which was the Peak pink for land rover. Do you think this coolant could have jeopardized and possibly cause it to seep thru into the cylinders. And despite it overheating, is it possible I can get the motor to run again by replacing the head gaskets and machining the heads if needed or did Firestone screwed me by putting in the some universal crap? I posted pics for reference,

Old 03-13-2021, 11:20 AM
TReK
Received 503 Likes on 418 Posts

Firestone didn't cause your problem... Most folks ditch the pink and go to universal coolant anyway, the only important thing is to do a good flush first as they don't mix well... But that won't cause your issue.

Can't tell from your pics if you had an internal head gasket leak... Only you would know that by evidence of a failed gasket around number 2. Did you take a picture of the HG before you removed it from the block?

Chances are that was the issue, but again, we can't tell because you cleaned off the gasket before you took the pictures you posted.

Old 03-13-2021, 01:56 PM
Mudding

Originally Posted by Dave03S