Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Another Ticker

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2012, 07:09 PM
4wd Low
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Another Ticker

Hey All, I'm new to this, but have had two Range Rovers, The Classic, and a 96. Just bought a 2003 from a dealer in NJ, who hosed me. The car arrived over heating, Got that addressed with several thousands of dollars in other fixes. Now I have a ticking when the car gets up to opperational temp. I just had the oil pump changed, thinking that that was the problem. And it was leaking, but had not failed completly. I So I caught that in time too... I think! Also had the water pump replaced at that time. The ticking happens when sitting in traffic. When I give it gas, it disapates/goes away. In fact, sometimes, after it begins to tick, I might pull up to another stop light, and it will be much lighter. It does not begin at a cold start. When I drive for an extended period of time, it gets louder. My "Service Engine Soon" Light is on, and it is coding P0327(Knock Sensor Fault Bank 1 Drive Cycle B:Signal out of range) and P0441.(Evaporative Emission Canister Purge Valve) which I am much less concerned with, as I can see from the black "duct tape" around the hose going into the Black box on the driver's side, thats why that is jacked up. I guess my question for some LR Guru out there in Cyberspace is, two part: 1)It has been suggested to me that if the knock sensor has failed, as indicated by the code, the sensor it's self can create the ticking. Is this correct? And if so, is it something I can do myself easily? I have tried to locate the part under the bonnet, but can't seem to find it. It's supposed to be by the starter, I think??? The part online looks like it just clips in place on one end, and maybe takes a bolt at the other??? And it books out as a half hour job, but I'm in Pittsburgh, and i cant get any of these Yinzers to figure it out. PART 2: LOL! I am get