Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Big oil leak - 04 D2 V8

Search this Thread

Old 05-18-2022, 08:27 AM
Drifting
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default Big oil leak - 04 D2 V8

Hi guys, looking for some aid in diagnosing this leak (or leaks) as it's leaving a nice puddle on my shop floor.

Dripping from here:

Let's trace it!

Engine bay:

I am a complete newbie to engines, aiming to get educated and learn the workings using the Disco as a resource. I'll be getting under and cleaning all the oil off with brake cleaner as soon as I can but wanted to get some first opinions since it's probably an obvious common issue! This is a baby still with about 60k miles, in pretty amazing condition throughout, so I'm hoping it's nothing catastrophic. In-line stat mod is top of my list after fixing this leak(s).

Thanks

Old 05-18-2022, 04:17 PM
Drifting
Received 10 Likes on 7 Posts

Def valve cover gaskets. Relatively easy. Lookup pcv valve mod while tour at it to keep pressure down and future leak chances low.

The following 2 users liked this post by brivalen:
BlackShama (05-19-2022), Richard Gallant (05-18-2022)
Old 05-18-2022, 05:35 PM
Received 1,135 Likes on 784 Posts

Valve covers for sure, I would start there - it is possible the pan gasket is leaking as well. DO NO use brake cleaner that stuff is corrosive, get some engine degreaser and follow the directions - citrus based ones work quite well. If they require the use of water, take care where you spray and once you get things hosed off start the engine and let it run with hood up until warm then for few minutes after.

The following users liked this post:
BlackShama (05-19-2022)
Old 05-19-2022, 09:39 AM
Drifting

Noted on the brake cleaner - is it fine to use on the underside of the vehcule on the external parts to get rid of all the built up oil or just stick with degreaser all over?