Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bird chirping under the hood and bad gas mileage

Search this Thread

Old 09-23-2007, 05:29 PM
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bird chirping under the hood and bad gas mileage

G'day gents. I am new to the forum and am an american living in brisbane australia. Got a 96 Disco II SE, with 140K kilometers (about 100k miles). She has sat for about 6 months and after replacing the old battery there is a knocking and chirping ( sounds like a bird chirping)under the hood when I give her gas. The feul economy is shocking (about 160 miles to the tank), and a loss ofpower. Before the six months she ran ok, but now it runs like she is sick. Out here the mechanics can take you fora real ride. I have some mechanical experience and can accomplish medium to hard tasks, just dont know where to start. Just need some help in shooting me in the right direction.

Old 09-23-2007, 06:03 PM
Administrator
Received 100 Likes on 82 Posts
Default RE: bird chirping under the hood and bad gas mileage

Are you running on old stale gas, do you have a check engine light on?

Old 09-23-2007, 06:37 PM
Rock Crawling

this is going to sound stupid but i had a noise that i would call a bird churping and it was the belt. i had just done some repairs and got oil on the belt, sounded like i had a flock of seaguls (like the reference to the 80's band) under the hood. It sounded like no other car that needed a belt i will tell you this much.

Old 09-23-2007, 08:40 PM
Mudding

I also agree with what Disco Mike is asking about the SES light and if you are running on old gas.

I have that chirping sound and I've been told it's either the pulleys or belt tensioners. I've had my Serp. belt replaced within the year, so I know it's not that.

Hopefully that can help!

:]

Happy Rovering!!

John-Robert

Old 09-24-2007, 06:04 AM
3rd Gear