Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

bleeding brakes - what to buy?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2008, 08:23 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default bleeding brakes - what to buy?

I am going to bleed my brake system soon on my '02 Disco II. What is a good bleed kit (or whatever) to get for this job? I have never done this before. Thanks!

Old 06-03-2008, 08:46 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts
Default RE: bleeding brakes - what to buy?

You dont need a bleed kit, justa catch pan, some water line for a ice maker, an open end wrench that fits your bleed screws, 2 quarts of DOT 4 brake fluid and a friend.

Loosen the bleed screw, put the water line on the nipple and direct it into your catch pan, have your friend push the brake pedel to the floor and hold it there, tighten the screw, repeat, top off the brake fluid resevoir as needed, do this at each wheel until clean fluid comes out of each. It will take several times at each wheel to get clean fluid.

Old 06-04-2008, 10:05 AM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 52 Likes on 43 Posts

I agree. I just want to add a little more detail. Get your wife or buddy in the car to run the pedel for you while you run the wrench at each wheel. You give the directions. Make sure you tell him NEVER,EVERto take their foot off the pedel until you instruct them to do so. Reason is, you don't want to 'suck' air back into the system.