Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Buy and Build advice for a D2

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2018, 03:55 PM
Mudding
Received 15 Likes on 14 Posts
Default Buy and Build advice for a D2

Hello everyone, I am new to the forum and looking to purchase my first land rover (my dad owned an 01 D2 back in the day and then had an LR3, but this will be my first, and is planning on importing a defender from italy as his dream weekend toy). Basically I am looking for some advice here because there seems to be so many mixed responses, so I will outline what I know so far and hopefully someone will chime in on their opinion.

So here we go! Basically I am buying this as a second vehicle just for fun so this is NOT my daily, kind of a project to learn more about cars. I am new to 4x4 vehicles however im not new to offroading quads/snowmobiles etc (had my own quad since i was 5). Therefore I want something that is capable in the sand dunes (this is the closest offroading area near my house and i frequently take the quads there) that can tow a small aluminum trailer with 2 quads. I also am hoping to eventually take it to other places, like moab to do some easy trails, not really into deep mud or serious rock crawling. Now I am fine with doing maintenance, in fact its why im looking at a project truck, but I need to be able to rely on it to get me home. Also I tend to have a heavy foot, used to driving race quads so im a "throttle out" kind of driver haha. Finally, I am pretty handy with a wrench although I havent spent a ton of time on cars, mostly sleds boats and quads, and my best friends dad is a mechanic and owns a shop, so I have all access to knowledge and equipment (he is an amazing mechanic but never worked on rovers) and will be doing everything DIY that I can.