Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

buying advise, help please!

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2007, 11:46 AM
Mudding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default buying advise, help please!

I am new here and hope to become an owner of a Discovery. I have been looking at 2000 to 2002 Discos with 50 to 70,000 miles on them. I was an automotive technician on Nissans and Infinitis for many years and have never owned a Rover. Any advise on what to watch for, signs of issues, transmission problems? Have read some of you are having head gasket issues, is this very common? Electrical issues, window motors, etc? Powertrain management codes?

I would like to see 150+ miles out of one of these, is this easily possible with good maintenance?

Thanks in advance for your help,
David

Old 04-13-2007, 12:25 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: buying advise, help please!

Hey David,

Yes, head gasket issues are fairly common. If you're buying a truck that's has documented head gasket work,you want to try to find out the details of the failure if at all possible. Overheating (due to head gasket failure or other issues) can lead to bigger issues on those motors (liners dropping, cracking, etc.). Those issues usually spell a new block. So, if you know that the gaskets have been done, try to get as much info as you can. If they haven't been done, as an ex-tech, I don't expect you'd have any trouble doing that job yourself if eventually required. These trucks are fairly primitive from a mechanical standpoint so working on them is fairly easy......even for non-tech.

Besides the obvious things that you'd know to look for on any vehicle, you may want to take a close look at.....

1) driveshafts and u-joints - specifically the front. If it has grease fittings, it's been upgraded or is aftermarket. If it doesn't, it's original/OEM and could be on the edge of letting go in a potentially violent way.