Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Caliper Replacement/Brake Bleed Question

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2014, 08:27 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Caliper Replacement/Brake Bleed Question

Discovered I need to replace my left, rear brake caliper today. Just ordered the parts and am now researching the procedure. It's my first time messing with brakes, but I generally do well with good information and instructions. I have a few questions.

If I'm just replacing the left, rear brake caliper, do I have to go through the entire bleed procedure as noted in the RAVE?

The RAVE indicates I should "clamp the brake hose" to prevent fluid loss. What should I clamp this with?

Any watch outs? Am I going to curse at that bleed screw?

Thanks

Old 11-28-2014, 09:10 PM
TReK
Received 86 Likes on 59 Posts

Get yourself a one person brake system bleeder and death ending on where you live your caliper mounting bolts and caliper guide pins may be rusted and could be replaced while you are down there. My advice is to do everything in pairs. Be it tires or brake calipers. Not sure where you are getting your calipers but Rovers North sells affordable "pro line" calipers. I've replaced all 4 of mine with pro line and so far not issues. Have a breaker bar handy when trying to get the caliper mounting bolts off. Also have a 12 point socket set handy. Since you will be removing the caliper from the brake line, air bubbles will get into the system so you will have to do a full flush, but this would be the perfect time to drain and perform a complete brake system flush! Good luck.

Last edited by TRIARII; 11-28-2014 at 09:12 PM.
Old 11-29-2014, 09:29 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

If you put something on the pedal it will minimize break fluid loss. You should bleed thr right rear untill you get clear new fluid, then bleed the left.

Old 11-29-2014, 10:00 AM
Three Wheeling