Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Codes

Search this Thread

Old 04-17-2012, 03:30 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Codes

My Disco started intermittently running rough & the Check Engine light started flashing.

I got the codes checked at Auto Zone & got: 306, 301, 1300, 300.

I'm assuming that I need to change the spark plug wires & plugs. I see people talking about Magnecor wires - Is it worth waiting & paying the extra for those vs Bosch or Duralast? Opinions welcome.

My Three Amigos lights are also on. I got another code that I assume relates to that: 1590...Neutral position switch circuit high input.

Sorry, I'm a complete newbie - Any input is greatly appreciated.

Old 04-17-2012, 03:59 PM
Mudding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Might be plugs and wires, unless there is major problem with the car causing it to misfire (oi/coolant leaking). The SES light blinks when you have a misfire. Someone more resourceful than me will know more, tho. I didn't have any misfires when I replaced my plugs and wires, but I had probably 8-10 codes, and the magnecores and bosch +4s cleared everything up except for one or two completely unrelated codes. You'll see it posted here time and time again that magnecore are the better choice for your truck, but there are one or two more brands that will work too. I think it's all personal preference, but I sprung for the magnecores. They are about $100 shipped from apex performance.

I have the 1590 on right now, comes on and off intermittently. Its ABS rough road circuit, or something like that. Its related to the three amigos. There's a sticky on how to fix that.

Lastly, I looked up 1300, and my code book said its boost calibration fault. I took that to be related to a turbo charger, but maybe my book is wrong. It is a couple of years old.

Old 04-17-2012, 05:53 PM
Drifting
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts