Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

condenser cooling fan motor

Search this Thread

Old 09-04-2012, 09:39 AM
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default condenser cooling fan motor

Hello, all,
I'm a newbie, but have read a lot of the threads and learned more than I thought possible! This is a great aide to keeping the Disco's going!!
My question: I've noticed the condenser cooling fan motor has gotten louder lately when running. Is it possible to lubricate the motor with something like 3in1 Oil? If so, where would you put the oil?
Thanks!
PS: mine's a 2004 Discovery II.

Old 09-04-2012, 11:42 AM
Baja
Received 317 Likes on 311 Posts

i did not see any place on my 2000, just replaced it.

Old 09-04-2012, 08:28 PM
Super Moderator
Received 83 Likes on 80 Posts

When it fails (which will be soon) you won't have the extra cooling needed when slow or stopedm especially with AC on. So engine could overheat. A $80 electric motor is a lot cheaper than the gasoline powered aluminum one under the hood.

Old 09-05-2012, 07:56 AM
4th Gear

Roger that on the $80.00 electric motor!

Old 09-05-2012, 08:01 AM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

Make sure whatever you buy it equals or exceeds the factory fans flow rate.

Old 09-05-2012, 09:59 AM
Winching
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

See my write-up on "Does your A/C condensor fan work"? The motors are available at some of the local big chain auto part stores. If yours has been siezed up as my were for sometime, any replacement motor is going to be an improvement. VDO brand at O'rielly Auto is what I used and they are great.

Old 09-05-2012, 11:27 AM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by 0304Disco