Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Considering my first Disco: need advice

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2015, 11:24 PM
Rock Crawling
Received 18 Likes on 13 Posts
Default Considering my first Disco: need advice

Hey all, thanks for the help. I'm totally new to LR but I'm ver y active in many other car communities.
So, I considering a 1999, which I'm pretty sure is a disco2 since I also saw a 98 and they looked very different, more so the inside of the 99 looked fancier.
So, 1999, 2 owners, first was (allegedly) an old lady who put 100k on it and did 100% required maintenance. I'm buying from second owner who did the last 30 and replaced the starter but didn't do much else. now 135,000 miles.
It seems to be in mostly decent repair. So here are the issues, what are your thoughts
1. Looks like there's a coolant leak from under the throttle body. (I assume a gasket and 30 minutes to fix?)
2. The rear left door won't unlock with the button. (easy actuator replacement or even cleaning?)
3. the three amigos, or 4 actually with the abs, brake, hill control, and TC lights. I read a little about this but need to learn more. Can I ignore this for a while? What happens?
4. needs a new exhaust manifold to down pipe ring gasket per midas. easy.

So, agreed price got down to $2500. It needs new tires soonish too. Is this decent? I plan on putting a little work in to it hoping to keep it running in to the 200k mile area. Eventually planning a mild lift and bigger tires to do family camping trips out in the mountains over rough dirt and rock roads. Am I crazy, or can I make it happen?
What do I NEED to look at to make sure it is solid?

Extra credit question: after looking at a disco1; where is the locking diff actuator?? Is the disco2 less offroad capable than its predecessor??

Sorry for the long post. Thanks again! I hope to join the family soon!

Old 02-01-2015, 08:37 AM
Baja
Received 721 Likes on 626 Posts