Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coolant Leak .. New Disco Owner

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2012, 08:43 PM
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Coolant Leak .. New Disco Owner

Okay folks,
I'm new to the Land Rover family. This is my husbands 03' Disco II HSE7 it started with 86000 when we met. It began with the Three Amigos showing up around 90000. As of right it's at 102643 and running. I think my throttle body heat plate is bad. I watched coolant leak from that area today and it made a huge steaming mess.. I was told I need a maf sensor which would cost 356.. and a IAC (what's a IAC?) which would be 400 plus. I can find the maf sensor cheaper and I'm not sure if that's a fair price from what they want to charge me. I am alone when I go to the mechanics, I kind of feel like I'm being taken advantage of... am I crazy or do these parts cost this much from a shop. He didn't mention the cost of labor either to note. I also have to pay 85 each time I go in a 1 hour diagnostic check and they have my car all day. (I've been in the shop before for an 02 sensor replacements and other trouble)

Any help would much appreciated...

03' Discovery
00' Jaguar XKR

Last edited by Ry'zDiscoGirl; 04-19-2012 at 08:49 PM.
Old 04-19-2012, 09:08 PM
Mudding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

The MAF can be purchased aftermarket (not from LandRover) for a lot cheaper and it's really easy to change, as long as you have a tamper resistant torques bit that fits. You can get an entire set for like $30. The bits look like starts with a hole in the middle. You also need to know how to unplug a wire from a harness. A person that has no idea what they're doing should take no more than 10mins and in investment of about $80, assuming you don't have the special torques bit or a driver to attach it to. In reality, you can normally just clean the part with a spray mass air sensor cleaner.