Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Dead Battery? And where to get a new one?

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2012, 11:01 AM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dead Battery? And where to get a new one?

Hey guys, my wipers stopped working right a few months ago (I think I posted here about that, lol). I hadn't used my rover disco II SE 2004 in a few weeks, and drove to the grocery store. Got my groceries, came back, car wouldnt start. AAA came and tested things, OF COURSE their testing tool stopped working halfway through, but the guy said it was a battery issue, it was 7 years old and needed a new one.

I'm a newbie here. Where's the most cost effective way to get a new battery? Is it easy to install? I know, huge newbie question. Love my Disco!

Thanks

Old 03-22-2012, 11:14 AM
Super Moderator
Received 83 Likes on 80 Posts

An auto parts store will test battery and alternator for free, and install the battery. If you have not done one, watch them. Then in 3 years, repeat. Sears also sell batteries. WalMart, some call their store brand "never start", but it will be better than your 7 year old one. If stuck for cash (not you, but perhaps a future reader), many salvage yards pull out the cream of the crop used batteries, and sell them for about $25. May last the rest of the vacation, until payday, or another year....

They are not hard to install. On a scale of 1-10 it is like a 0.5.

Old 03-22-2012, 01:21 PM
TReK
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

You can also look in the phone book for rebuilt batteries. They are half the cost of and last about the same as Walmart batteries.

Old 03-22-2012, 01:33 PM
Overlanding

so an auto parts store will have an '04 disco II battery?

what if my car wont make it to the store? Just tried turning it on -- flickering lights, faint horn, clicking noise...

Old 03-22-2012, 02:06 PM
Super Moderator
Received 97 Likes on 91 Posts