Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Discovery or LR3 Opinions needed

Search this Thread

Old 06-16-2009, 09:43 PM
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Discovery or LR3 Opinions needed

I am new to Land Rover, currently searching for my first one and am trying to decide which to buy - low mileage 2004 discovery or 2006 low mileage LR3. I have not found a suitable candidate yet, and could use opinion from LR owners. I can't seem to find much comparison data as the search function will not recognize LR3 -too short a string

I live in PEI Canada - no local dealers. LR will replace an aging rusty 1999 4runner that has extremely reliable. I don't expect the LR to compare in that department but I want something that with proper maintenance at a reaonable cost can be kept reasonably reliable. I am pretty good at most DIY repairs if there is a decent manual available and I will call upon a good local foreign car/truck mechanic as needed. My fun car is an 84 Porsche 911 and I do all of my own maintenance on that car.

Vehicle will be a daily driver and all around utility vehicle, will see significant winter snow service. Roads are terrible around here,especially in spring. Vehicle will not see much dedicated hard core off road use but will definately not be a garage queen.

2004 Disco's are about half the price of a 2006 LR3. Is there much difference in the reliability/ease of DIY service between the two?

I am leaning towards the Disco however the LR3 has appeal with the larger interior size (I am 6'3") and fold flat rear cargo area.

Thanks for any comments

Ross

Old 06-16-2009, 10:10 PM
TReK
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts