Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Discovery with no Drive/ tranni problems

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2010, 07:49 PM
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Discovery with no Drive/ tranni problems

Hello guys,
I decided to play in a snow bank yesterday. I was stuck and was rocking back and forth. Long story short, my transmission will now not engage in drive. Works fine in reverse, but no drive. Flashing S and M lights on the dash and flashing lights on the shifter in D, 1,2,3,. I am surprised that the tranny broke soo easy? Code was P0722 Any ideas. BTW, the dealership is about 4 hours away if I try it in reverse gear, and no telling how many police tickets. I also like to learn and fix things myself. Very competent at turning a wrench, but these electric cars I have little no experience with. There is no computer on any of my Triumphs. Other than reseating or swapping the XYZ switch, can I feel comfortable on long trips with this marvel of British design?
2002 Disco, 65000 miles
Thanks in advance,
Dog

Old 02-20-2010, 07:57 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Well Dog first I would check the trans fluid level and make sure it is still full and that you did not burn up the tranny by overheating it when you were rocking it.
Then I would check your battery and alternator voltage, low voltage will send the trans computer into limp mode, which is 3rd gear only, still driveable but slow starts and high rpm at speed.
If all of that checks out then I would have to say your XYZ switch got jacked up during your play time.
Also check your shift linkage and make sure it did not get bent.

Old 02-20-2010, 08:07 PM
Mudding
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Water in the wiring harness connector is a possibility. You can remove the center console pieces and clean the plugs out, grease them and put them back. Beyond that as you mentioned the x-y-z switch could be the problem.