Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driveshaft clunk

Search this Thread

Old 10-17-2022, 11:50 AM
7th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Driveshaft clunk

I’m not a mechanic so please bear with my poor terminology.

my disco has begun making a clunk when shifting from r to d, d to r and occasionally when giving it a lot of gas to getup a hill or pass.

I believe this is a driveshaft issue due to some forum threads I have read. And a friend looked under the vehicle when I shifted, he said it appeared to be a large black drum in the middle of the driveshaft.
Is this drum the carrier bearing?

Carrier bearing?

The center shaft joint at the rear of the vehicle has a rubber connection that has begun deteriorating but does not seem like trash yet.

Deteriorating rubber connection. Could this be the clunk?

the front shaft, where it connects to a large engine component(transmission?) appears to have sheared off at one connection, I can just barely see fresh metal, I assume I shouldn’t be able to with a 20 yr old vehicle

All other similar driveshaft connections are clearly connected. This one appears to have sheared off but only at this one place. It can be seen approx one inch southeast of the bolt in the pic. This seems like it could be my problem

Any advice appreciated. I feel like I should replace the front shaft to repair the sheared connection. Am I wrong?

Old 10-17-2022, 12:56 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 280 Likes on 182 Posts

DON’T DRIVE IT!!!!!!! That’s your front driveshaft and if it fails, it will do so in the most dramatic of fashions.