Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driving cross country in a new to me truck, will I be doomed

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2021, 06:49 PM
4th Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Driving cross country in a new to me truck, will I be doomed

Hey all,

Total newbie to the forums, I’ve been lurking for ages and the info here has been amazing so I guess I should introduce myself

Through various life choices I now have a 04 DII SE7 which has led a super good life so far. It was owned by the owner of a really good shop and he really took care of this thing.

It’s got about 200k kms on it, but 6k kms ago it had a full engine/tranny out service, he redid a ton of the electrics and abs, put on the ome lift kit and turner rebuild kit. I’ve had it for 2 months and it’s been more reliable than my 13 RRS, which says a lot

So I’m moving cross country now from Alberta to Ontario and I need to drive this thing there because that’s the only way. I’ve read all the previous threads regarding this and it’s in the shop today getting new fluids all around, rear disks + pads (they were at 25%, fronts are at 90%), the battery was testing at about a third of its original capacity so I’m getting that changed as well even though it’s been solid so far in -30c weather. It’s going to be cold the entire way and this thing warms up perfectly and stays warm so I’m confident about that. I’m just wondering if there’s anything I’m missing or should look at while it’s still in the shop. The tires are virtually brand new too. I’ve done minor trips like 3-5 hours and it’s been solid every time. But this time I’m driving cross country. I’ll be stopping every night so it’s about 14 - 16 hours of driving over 3 days.

Below is what she looks like, and honestly growing up these were a distant dream of mine.. I have newer vehicles but the discovery has a soul to it, it’s a great vehicle and I love it

The following users liked this post: