Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine flush

Search this Thread

Old 09-13-2009, 03:37 PM
Three Wheeling
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine flush

hey, I'm new to the Disco scene and I was going over the 60K mile service items and it said to flush my engine before changing the oil. I know this is a stupid question to most of you but what exactly am I going to be doing, I have never done and never thought I could flush my engine. please help. I'm new to Disco's but not to cars so I know my way around, I've just never done it and want to do it right.

Old 09-13-2009, 04:13 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

Just drain your engine oil, leave the old filter on, add 6 quarts of atf to the crank case, let the engine run for 30 minutes with the hood down and the a/c off. Then do a normal oil change.

Old 09-13-2009, 04:27 PM
Winching

Originally Posted by Disco-Nate
hey, I'm new to the Disco scene and I was going over the 60K mile service items and it said to flush my engine before changing the oil. I know this is a stupid question to most of you but what exactly am I going to be doing, I have never done and never thought I could flush my engine. please help. I'm new to Disco's but not to cars so I know my way around, I've just never done it and want to do it right.
Flush your engine with auto-rx.com. Nothing but Engine Oil should be put into the engine. Unless you want severe engine wear.

Old 09-13-2009, 05:31 PM
Administrator
Received 103 Likes on 85 Posts

Is that why every dealer and most of the shops across the U.S offers engine flushes and have for the past 20 years??
So what would you say is the difference between using ATF and Auto-Rx especially since neither are engine oils and they both clean out the build up?

Last edited by Disco Mike; 09-13-2009 at 05:34 PM.
Old 09-13-2009, 06:43 PM
Three Wheeling