Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Engine Misfire - Cleaning Injection

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2007, 02:22 PM
Recovery Vehicle
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Default Engine Misfire - Cleaning Injection

Newbie here, sorry I haven't even had time to introduce myself yet. IJUST got my 2001 Land Rover Discovery SE (87k) and I already have an engine code (P0300 (random misfire) , PO301 (#1 misfire)PO306 (#6 misfire), P13000 (manufacturer control ingnition system or misfire). This is my first Land Rover and I know little about them. I've read on here about cleaning the injection system with seafoam, can anybody tell me where it needs to be injected at the engine and how much. This seems like a great site and hope to learn a lot from it. From the way things aregoing it appears that I may be on here a lot.
Off to change some spark plugs....[sm=burnout.gif]

Old 10-06-2007, 02:39 PM
TReK
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Engine Misfire - Cleaning Injection

The spark plug wires or the plugs will more likely be the problem.
Sometimes at night you can see the arc of the wire, like lighting.
Plug one and plug six.
When you put the wires back on use dielectric grease on the boots
so they don't stick and it will help with the arcing, keeping the
power to the plug.

Old 10-06-2007, 02:50 PM
Recovery Vehicle

ok thanks, that's good to know. I've already ordered the magnecor's per the thread below.....
This is all stuff I planned on doing when I bought the truck, I just didn't think I'd have problems right away.

Old 10-06-2007, 04:30 PM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts

Call around and find a shop that handles B&G producrs, buy one of their kits that contains a can of 44K, throttle body cleaner and induction cleaner. Install this after replacing your plugs and wires and you swear you have a new truck.

Old 10-06-2007, 05:20 PM
Recovery Vehicle

ORIGINAL: Disco Mike