Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Extended Warranty

Search this Thread

Old 02-16-2008, 08:31 PM
Overlanding
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Extended Warranty

I'm new to the fourm and would like to say hello to everyone. I bought a 2004 DII last week, It has 26K miles on it. The factory warranty will expire April 13th. I want to purchase an extended and had sorta planned to get one from the LR dealership. I called two dealerships here in Atl (both of them owned by the same people) and neitherare willing to sell me an extended warranty because I'm not the orginal owner. Is this whackyor what? I've never heard of a dealer doing this before. Is ita LR policy or is the dealer in my area just goofy? Should I try a dealer elsewhere?

Your thoughtswould be appreciated.

Old 02-17-2008, 09:06 AM
Administrator
Received 99 Likes on 81 Posts
Default RE: Extended Warranty

That has nothing to do with anything.
Have you been talking to the finance manager when inquiring about buy a contract, if not you should.

Old 02-17-2008, 09:12 AM
Overlanding

Thanks Mike. That's what I'll do. I need to go in and get service anyway. I'll make my way to his office. The two guys I spoke with were service writers.

Old 02-17-2008, 09:22 AM
TReK
Received 8 Likes on 6 Posts

Be sure to push getting that warranty. They have saved quite a few people on here. I have never heard of the "first owner" thing so like mike said, find someone else to talk to.

Old 02-17-2008, 10:56 AM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

Save your money. Everybody who buys a extended warrenty has trouble making claims.
https://landroverforums.com/m_54560/tm.htm
There are others who have had problems with claims, and there are people who have not had any trouble. But more than not you will have trouble.
Make sure that you follow the rules of the warrenty to the letter. Make sure that everything is documented, EVERYTHING.