Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

A few important questions about my Disco II - help anyone?

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2009, 06:34 PM
Mudding
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default A few important questions about my Disco II - help anyone?

Hi guys - a newbie here! I have a couple of issues that I could use an opinion on. Long story short, I have a 2000 Disco II with 115K on it, and I had a remanufactured motor put in about a month ago. It runs pretty well, but has a couple of issues. I had a couple Disco's in the past, and this one doesn't seem to have the "pep" that my other 2 did as far as acceleration....of course it feels great when on a road with a slight decline, but if I'm headed up an incline, it is pretty sluggish, i.e. loses speed gradually unless I stomp on it to keep up. I never had that issue in my other two. That said, when I got the truck back after the motor was installed, I had a bunch of codes in the system...random stuff. I replaced the MAF and all 4 oxygen sensors, and I still have codes left for a camshaft position sensor, and some sort of "transmission switch" (can't remember exactly). I saw that the CPS sensor is pretty pricey, and I'm not fully sure I need it as I know that sometimes check engine light codes can come from other issues. One other symptom I have is that although the truck drives well, if I'm driving in town and slow down to 5mph or less, then go to accelerate, it doesn't always want to "go" right away, so I'll press down harder on the accelerater to get it going....it just seems to not like to accelerate very well in the 0-5mph range...