Discovery II Talk about the Land Rover Discovery II within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

flywell and torque converter

Search this Thread

Old 01-07-2012, 07:17 PM
5th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation flywell and torque converter

I pulled off my engine which was locked, the fly wheel and torque converter they both were attached together, I want to know how I can separate each other, and also I want to know if I have to install the torque converter in the Transmision before I install the engine. I dont know if some one undestand what I try to explain ,but this is my first time doing this type of job which I enjoy to do. hope some one can helpe me,
I have two land rover discovery 11 one 2000 and the other one is 2002 I'm working in the 2000.

Old 01-07-2012, 07:25 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts

Is the engine already removed from the vehicle? Either way, to unbolt the converter from the flywheel, you need to remove the rubber plug on the right hand side of the engine bellhousing, then rotate the flywheel until you can access a bolt through the hole in the bellhousing.

On reinstall, install the torque converter on the transmission, replace engine, and then bolt the two together.

Old 01-07-2012, 07:29 PM
Super Moderator
Received 97 Likes on 91 Posts

Originally Posted by lordmorpheus
On reinstall, install the torque converter on the transmission, replace engine, and then bolt the two together.
You'll want to make sure the torque converter is fully seated, and engaged into the pump, or you might break the pump in the transmission.

Old 01-07-2012, 07:48 PM
Team Owner
Received 95 Likes on 72 Posts

The torque converter bolts to the flywheel.
You need to unbolt it.
Install the torque converter first, then the engine, then bolt the 2 together.

Old 01-07-2012, 07:51 PM
Pro Wrench
Received 86 Likes on 73 Posts

Originally Posted by jafir